Friday, November 12, 2010

The Four Courts

The Four Courts contain the Supreme Court and the High Court of Ireland. Completed in 1786 and designed by the architect James Gandon. It is designed as a single quadrangle with four original courts, the King's Bench, Chancery, Exchequer and Common Pleas. It was originally built as a records storage building but part way through the construction it was decided to transfer the courts of law from St Michaels Hill. The building was severely damaged in 1922 during the Civil War wnd most of the documents of the Public Records Office were destroyed. This is now the reason why it is very hard to trace relatives in Dublin before the 19th Century.